MILTON SCHOOL COMMITTEE RESOLUTION: COVID-19 STATE FUNDING

TO: Governor Charlie Baker

Education Secretary James Peyser Education Commissioner Jeffrey Riley

Senate President Karen Spilka House Speaker Robert DeLeo

Joint Education Committee Co-Chair Jason Lewis Joint Education Committee Co-Chair Alice Peisch

CC: Senator Walter F. Timilty

State Representative William Driscoll State Representative Daniel R. Cullinane

WHEREAS, if schools are to re-open this fall in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic, it is the responsibility of each school district to do so safely and responsibly; and

WHEREAS, it is the responsibility of the state to ensure that each school district is able to pay for the enormous additional staffing, transportation and material expenses required to do this; and

WHEREAS, the state cannot expect mandatory COVID-19 safety guidelines to be followed without also ensuring that each school district has the funds required to implement these guidelines; therefore, let it be

RESOLVED: that the state must guarantee every school district full reimbursement for whatever COVID-19 expenses are required to follow state mandates.

We must ensure a statewide school re-opening that is safe, responsible and equitable.

THERE CAN BE NO UNFUNDED MANDATES FOR COVID-19.

Respectfully,

Milton School Committee Chair Sheila Varela

Milton School Committee Vice Chair Dr. Elaine Craghead

Milton School Committee Member Margaret Eberhardt

Milton School Committee Member Dr. Kevin Donahue

Milton School Committee Member Ada Rosmarin

Milton School Committee Member Elizabeth White

^{*}Unanimously voted by the Milton School Committee July 8, 2020