## Full descriptions of committees in this document

# SUBCOMMITTEES (composed of SC members)

- Finance: Beverly Ross Denny (Chair), Dr. Celina Miranda, Mark Loring
- Policy: Anna Varghese (Chair), Dr. Elizabeth Carroll, Bao Qiu
- **Superintendent Evaluation** (*New for 2023-2024*): (Chair) Dr. Elizabeth Carroll, Anna Varghese, Mark Loring

#### Evaluation Subcommittee Responsibilities (informed by DESE Superintendent Evaluation Guide) Full School Committee Responsibilities Identify and recommend to full SC the process • Approve the evaluation process that the subcommittee will recommend; to be used: • Participate in Jan. 3 formative Ensure that committee members and the superintendent follow the process; assessment discussion of Approve Focus Indicators and the Annual Plan; Superintendent's progress report Collect and assess evidence related to goal toward the goals approved in progress and performance against Standards; September; • Collect, compile and synthesize performance • Complete performance rating using ratings from individual committee members for the DESE rubric with evidence that March evaluation: has been provided (March). Determine performance ratings to recommend • Vote on the final performance rating to the full School Committee in the end of year (March). evaluation report (to be discussed and voted by

ADVISORY COMMITTEES (composed of SC member representatives along with other members of MPS leadership/staff and, in some cases, Milton community)

## **Facilities Advisory Committee**

SC Member Representatives: Mark Loring (Chair), Anna Varghese

# **Health and Wellness Advisory Committee**

full SC in March 2024).

SC Member Representatives: Celina Miranda, Anna Varghese

Recommendation: Reconfigure this committee to be led by MPS staff, with participation from SC member(s) along with community representatives from Board of Health and the Milton Coalition (SC member should no longer chair this committee)

# **Strategic Planning Advisory Committee**

Recommendation: Do not continue as a standalone committee, now that 5-year Strategic Plan has been approved and is being implemented; Superintendent and members of MPS Leadership Team will report through presentations to full SC meetings on progress toward Strategic Plan goals and metrics.

#### **Curriculum and Instruction Advisory Committee**

SC Member Representatives: Beverly Ross Denny (Chair), Bao Qiu

Summary of discussion, begun at summer retreat: In order to uplift the importance of this work and support full SC understanding of how key issues are being addressed (challenges, opportunities, action steps), information from this advisory committee can be folded into the regular deep learning/discussion of the full School Committee through: 1) Superintendent's Report at SC meetings, 2) standalone reports at SC meetings, and/or 3) quarterly data reports to the SC. At retreat, we discussed pros and cons of continuing this standalone committee vs. bringing it into the full SC. Separate advisory committee meetings can leave different SC members with varying levels of understanding on core issues. However, more intimate advisory committee meetings can support candor, detail of sharing, depth of discussion. This advisory committee will continue to meet, and we will continue to discuss in our October SC governance meeting how it relates to SC's ongoing "deep learning."

Liaison to Student Advisory Committee to School Committee: Bao Qiu

#### **Bargaining Team:**

SC Member Representatives: Dr. Elizabeth Carroll, plus TBD as needed (given that this is not a contract negotiation year)

**TBD:** Student Services Task Force (more information coming in October)

Operating Protocol Task Force: Beverly Ross Denny and Dr. Celina Miranda

JOINT TOWN/SCHOOL SUBCOMMITTEES

**Town Capital Improvement Planning Committee** 

SC Member Representative: Dr. Elizabeth Carroll

SC REPRESENTATIVES TO OUTSIDE BOARDS AND TASK FORCES

**School Building Committee** 

SC Member Representatives: Dr. Celina Miranda, Mark Loring

Milton Foundation for Education Representative: Beverly Ross Denny

MPEG/Milton Access TV Representative: Anna Varghese

Security and Safety Advisory Committee: Anna Varghese

**Climate Action Planning Committee:** Lisa Troy

**DEVOLVED RESPONSIBILITIES** 

**Vendor Warrant** 

Beverly Ross Denny

APPOINTED REPRESENTATIVES (administration level)

**Special Education Collaborative** 

Dr. Peter Burrows