2017-2018 MILTON SCHOOL COMMITTEE SUBCOMMITTEES, ADVISORY COMMITTEES, AND RESPONSIBILITIES January 17, 2018

SUBCOMMITTEES

Finance Subcommittee

Dr. Elaine Craghead*
Margaret Eberhardt
Elizabeth White

The Finance Subcommittee is responsible for reviewing/approving budget information and making recommendations for the full School Committee. The Superintendent will bring all matters that may have a financial impact on the district to the Finance Subcommittee's attention.

Policy Subcommittee

Margaret Eberhardt *
Sheila Varela
Ada Rosmarin

The purpose of the Policy Subcommittee is to review/update and/or institute new policies for the district. Each School Committee member is given a Policy and Procedures Manual containing all of the School Committee approved policies. Prior members had begun a review of the manual to make sure current policies reflected changes in laws, DESE changes, etc. The Policy Subcommittee reviews policies that may be recommended by MASC and will make recommendations to the School Committee as they see fit.

^{*} denotes Subcommittee/Advisory Committee chair

Advisory Committees

Health and Wellness Advisory Committee

School Committee Members: Margaret Eberhardt* Sheila Varela

Other Members:

Jacqueline Morgan, Noel Vigue, Mary Gormley, Janet Sheehan, Dr. Karen Spaulding, James Jette, Holly Concannon, Caroline Kinsella, Vicki McCarthy, Scott Devlin, Richard Guarino, Alex Rene, Eliza O'Donnell

The purpose of the Health and Wellness Advisory Committee is to review/update/or institute policies and programs that promote health/well being for students/families/staff. Members of the Health and Wellness include SC members, staff, Milton Hospital representatives, etc. They work to provide speakers such as Chris Herron, Katie Greer, etc. who promote healthy and safe behavior for students. Milton Hospital representatives work with the team to collaborate on grants/programs, etc. that also promote healthy life styles.

As per Milton School Committee Policy, in compliance with FDA and other state and federal guidelines, this Advisory Committee shall at all times include the individuals in the following positions:

Food Service Director, Director of Physical Education, Guidance Counselor, Principal, Community member, Town Representative (Health Department), Superintendent, Asst. Superintendent, High School Students, School Committee Members

Transportation and Traffic Safety Advisory Committees

School Committee Members:

Sheila Varela*

Dr. Elaine Craghead

* denotes Subcommittee/Advisory Committee chair

Elizabeth White

Other Members:

Karrie Forgue, Jim Mulligan, Libby Dunphy, Jane Greene, Rachel Shanor, Brian Canavan, Dr. Glenn Pavlicek

The charge of the Transportation and Traffic Safety Advisory Committee is to "coordinate the development of solutions to identified transportation and traffic safety issues with the Milton Police Department, the Department of Public Works, the Milton Traffic Commission, and Town Administrator." The Advisory Committee will be comprised of one or more School Committee members, MPS Assistant Superintendent for Business, one parent from each elementary school, the middle school and the high school (appointed through the respective PTO Presidents/School Principals). The committee will also have a liaison from Mass DOT to consult and assist with all Transportation concerns and solutions.

Facilities Advisory Committee

School Committee Members: Dr. Kevin Donahue * Elizabeth White Ada Rosmarin

Other Members:

Dr. Glenn Pavlicek, Bill Ritchie, Lynda Lee Sheridan, Rick Malmstrom, Tony Cichello

The Facilities Advisory Committee reviews programs/initiatives that will benefit the schools (saving electricity, solar panels, etc.) and works to insure that all school buildings are maintained properly. The Facilities Subcommittee will make recommendations to the School Committee if they deem that repairs/updates are necessary.

Strategic Planning Advisory Committee

School Committee Members:
Ada Rosmarin *
Dr. Kevin Donahue
Margaret Eberhardt

^{*} denotes Subcommittee/Advisory Committee chair

Other Members:

Mary Gormley, Janet Sheehan, Dr. Glenn Pavlicek, Dr. Elaine McNeil Girmai, Dr. Karen Spaulding, AJ Melanson, Michelle Kreuzer, Steve Paxhia, and Spencer Blasdale

The purpose of this Advisory Committee is to work with the school administration, staff, members of the community, and others to identify long-range goals and innovations for the District as well as potential concerns and to recommend to the School Committee a process for achieving those goals or addressing those concerns.

JOINT TOWN/SCHOOL SUBCOMMITTEES

Town/School Consolidation Committee

Dr. Elaine Craghead

The charge of the Town/School Consolidation Committee is to explore opportunities for efficiencies in processes, operations, and/or personnel by consolidating and/or integrating certain functions of the Town with those of the School Department, including but not limited to the areas of business office and information technology, and to make recommendations based on the results of such work for the consideration of the Board of Selectmen and the School Committee.

Town Capital Improvement Planning Committee

Dr. Kevin Donahue

REPRESENTATIVES TO OUTSIDE BOARDS AND TASKFORCES

Milton Foundation for Education Representative

Margaret Eberhardt

MPEG Representative

Ada Rosmarin

Inclusion Task Force

Elizabeth White

^{*} denotes Subcommittee/Advisory Committee chair

Security

Elizabeth White

DEVOLVED RESPONSIBILITIES

Payroll Warrant

Dr. Elaine Craghead

Vendor Warrant

Dr. Elaine Craghead

APPOINTED REPRESENTATIVES (administration level)

Five Year Financial Plan Committee

Dr. Glenn Pavlicek

Special Education Collaborative

Ms. Gormley

^{*} denotes Subcommittee/Advisory Committee chair